Update and Thoughts

I haven’t put anything up on the blog this week. It’s not that I have nothing to say, indeed I have a lot to say (or rather, write). My grandmother died on Friday night. I’m doing the funeral and I’ve been focusing on that mostly, and family logistics, outside of my regular pastoral duties.

So, coming down the pipeline, I have some theological posts, one on the question of whether or not the ACNA Texts for Common Prayer is a successor to the 1979 Prayer Book or not, and another on The Real Presence of Christ in the Eucharist.

I’ve also got a book review coming for June, this one on The Spy Who Came In From The Cold. Not theological, but that’s part of the charm of this blog. 🙂

For now, I’ve put together a graveside funeral service, and I’m writing a homily. That’s the interesting part of it. Some, perhaps many, of those attending will be Pentecostal Holiness. The last funeral I preached, I made reference to the Blessed Virgin Mary, to John Chrysostom (specifically his Paschal homily), and to the sacraments. In this particular case, my challenge has been to stay true to my own convictions and catholic theology while at the same time making the sermon understandable and not off putting to those in attendance. In other words, how can I best preach to reach those present with the gospel? This might itself deserve a blog post.

 

*Amazon Links are Amazon Associate links. 

One thought on “Update and Thoughts

  1. Pingback: Friday Link Salad | 21st centuryanglican

Leave a Reply

