Josquin des Prez

I am by no means a musical expert, or really even an aficionado. However, I have certain trends and certain things that I like. For instance, I am very much a fan of plainsong. So, I greatly prefer Now My Tongue The Mystery Telling to the tune Pange Lingua (#199 in the 1940 hymnal and #329 in the 1982 Hymnal) to the tune St. Thomas (#199, second tune). I prefer all of them to the tune Grafton (#331, 1982 Hymnal).

I have found that one composer I very much like is Josquin des Prez. He is a French Renaissance composer, and though not as well known as Bach, Beethoven, Palestrina, or de Vittoria, he was quite prolific. The first mass of his that came across my eye was the Missa de Pange Lingua, which I think caught my attention because of the name.

You can get this from Amazon if you would like your own copy.

The second mass of his I listened to was the Missa Hercules Dux Ferrari. I very much like the richness and fullness of the sound in this composition.

There are several others. I hope to have time to listen to them soon.

Leave a Reply

